Trying something new, Again.

I finished January strong by running and chasing the sunset.  Hours before that, I was penning my letter-writing experience.  While I was in the middle of thinking of words, jumbling of lines and forming my sentences, I pause to entertain some thoughts.  A positive distraction, I refer it.  These thoughts are so amusing; I could not even put it into words.  Weird isn’t it? Good thing I got a pen and a paper beside me so I started scribbling.

But a short poem happened anyway.  I hope I gave enough justice to the fleeting thought.  I’m neither a writer nor a poet but there are times when words play in my mind, they simply fall into the right place and blend well together – hopefully.  Words, syllables and rhymes may be the common factors.  But one thing is for sure, none of these matters when written without a heart.  Personal insights can be a good ingredient, but that doesn’t mean you need to experience everything to produce something.  This is what I find astonishing in this craft; You can be anyone you want to be, feel anything you want to feel (yes, this is a disclosure).

LOVE LULLABY

When I think of you,
Words start to pass by,
Sometimes, I pick and jumble a few for a while,
But then I stop and let them go by,
For nothing is worth more than your love lullaby.

#1, Jan 31, 2016

The poem sounded good for me, possibly because the moment was mixed with a nostalgic feeling.  I remember when I used to write poems when I was in grade school; I was around 9-10 years old back then.  Together with the other things I was capable of doing (Yes, I take inventory of it), I enumerated the poems I made.  Based on the list, it was just a total of 6.  One of these is a poem about stars; I was then reminded of how fond I am of looking up in the sky even when I was a kid (Yes, too fond, I draw the moon reversely).

IMG1
Ang mga Bituin sa Langit (The Stars in the Sky).

I wrote all my poems in the outdated journal (1997) given by my Dad.  And in every first line of the page written “DADDY PARA SAYO TONG TULA”;  all poems are dedicated to him.  Forgive me for Mary had a little LAMP and for RO RO RO the boat.

One of my mantras for 2016 is ‘Try Something New‘.  I felt I was living this when I came up with the poem days ago.  But then I realized that maybe ‘Trying Something New’ isn’t new at all.  And sometimes, it can be viewed as ‘Trying Something AGAIN’.  Perhaps, there are things that we already did before but because of time and circumstances we refer as ‘Life Happened- always!‘- We forget about it.  I ponder on the thought that as we age, though as much as we say that we’re still the same us like before, a part of us was really left behind.  Not because we want to or we chose to but because we got engaged with other things that made them fall on the least priorities.  Yes, our lives continuously happen.  Still, we may look back and fetch the things we did at one point say ‘worth trying‘; And if it still amuse you or interest you, then it is ‘worth PURSUING’.  

Let me end this by sharing a beautiful quote from one of the famous poet, Jack Gilbert, whom I encounter in the book I’m currently reading, BIG MAGIC.

We must have the stubbornness to accept our gladness in the ruthless furnace of this world.

—-

GOODBYE

You talk about Hi and Hey,
When I want to talk about How and Why,
Conversations about dreams shadowed by
‘How your day went by?’,
I wanted to take a dive but you decided to fly,
So I packed my bags and sailed away
‘Goodbye.’

#2, Feb 1, 2016

HOT AIR BALLOON

Winds, flames and sunrays,
Nothing compared to your burning gaze,
Blushes, butterflies and smiles,
In return, hope it reach a thousand miles,
Hot air balloon is about to soar high,
I was then reminded to question
‘Why don’t we risk and try?’.

#3, Feb 2, 2016

—-

Filipino poems I’ve written when I was a kid. Too funny.

Leave a Reply

